Trio of Current Starfires Lead 13 CSC Academic All-District Selections

Full CSC Release

WESTFIELD, Massachusetts (June 6, 2024) – Three current members of the Westfield Starfires and 10 alums earned 2023-24 Academic All-District honors from College Sports Communicators (CSC), the organization announced recently.

CSC is a “national association for strategic, creative and digital communicators across intercollegiate athletics in the United States and Canada,” and has been recognizing the academic and athletic success of collegiate baseball student-athletes since it expanded its historic Academic All-America program to include baseball in 1970.

“When we talk about developing the players who come to Westfield, it is about more than just their baseball skills,” noted team owner Chris Thompson. “We want to help them become better as people in all aspects of life, which includes their academic pursuits. To have 13 Academic All-District selections is something we take tremendous pride in,” he added.

To earn the honor, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 cumulative grade point average and must be a sophomore or above academically and athletically. Additionally, they must have participated in 90 percent of their team’s contests or started two-thirds, with pitchers who throw at least 25 innings also eligible.

Current Starfires to win the award are Clark Churchill of Nichols College, Jackson Haker of American International College, and Sam Morris of Millersville University.

Joining the three current Starfires are Trey Bourque, Michael Breen, Luke Masiuk, Kobe Mentzer, Luke Stephens, and David Tirrell, who most recently played for Westfield in 2023, Brian Norsen, Michael Wearne, and Brian Dowling, who were 2022 Starfires, and Hunter Pasqualini, who was a Starfire in 2021.

Westfield’s next home game will be Tuesday, June 11 at 6:30 p.m. against the Brockton Rox. Tickets for all home Starfires games are available at

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »